Archive for August 19th, 2022


See the source image

See the source image
Chuck Connors (1921-1992) and Johnny Crawford (1946-2021)

The Rifleman aired on ABC from September 30, 1958, to
April 8, 1963, as a production of
Four Star Television. It
was one of the first
primetime series on US television to
show a single parent raising a child.

The series starred Chuck Connors as rancher Lucas
McCain and
Johnny Crawford as his son Mark McCain.

The Rifleman was partially filmed in Wildwood Regional
in Thousand Oaks, California.

See the source image
Chuck Connors with his Winchester Model 44-40 1892 rifle.

When Connors auditioned for the show, the director suddenly
threw a rifle at him; the former
Major League Baseball player
caught it and got the job. (
From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia)

posted by Bob Karm in Actors,Blog question,HISTORY,TV series,WESTERN and have No Comments


See the source image

A museum in New Jersey is giving people a fun and interactive experience from the past.

According to Reuters, the Silverball Retro Arcade in Asbury Park,
New Jersey, holds more than 150 working pinball machines that
visitors can play. Some of the machines date back to the 1950’s.

Robert Ilvento (below) and Steve Zuckerman are co-founders of
the museum.

See the source image

See the source image

See the source image

See the source image

posted by Bob Karm in Arcade,C0-founders,CURRENT EVENTS,HISTORY,Memorabillia,Museum,Pinball and have No Comments


See the source image


On August 19, 1909, the first race was held at the Indianapolis
Motor Speedway, now the home of the world’s most famous
motor racing competition, the Indianapolis 500.

Built on 328 acres of farmland five miles northwest of Indianapolis, Indiana, the speedway was started by local businessmen as a
testing facility for Indiana’s growing automobile industry. The
idea was that occasional races at the track would pit cars from
different manufacturers against each other. After seeing what
these cars could do, spectators would presumably head down
to the showroom of their choice to get a closer look.

The rectangular two-and-a-half-mile track linked four turns, each
exactly 440 yards from start to finish, by two long and two short
straight sections. In that first five-mile race on August 19, 1909,
12,000 spectators watched Austrian engineer Louis Schwitzer
win with an average speed of 57.4 miles per hour. The track’s
surface of crushed rock and tar proved a disaster, breaking up
in a number of places and causing the deaths of two drivers,
two mechanics and two spectators.

The surface was soon replaced with 3.2 million paving bricks,
laid in a bed of sand and fixed with mortar. Dubbed “The
Brickyard,” the speedway reopened in December 1909.


See the source image
Louis Schwitzer (center) with his team.          

See the source image

See the source image






posted by Bob Karm in ANNIVERSARY,AUTO RACING,HISTORY and have No Comments